How to Close a Facebook Account When Someone Dies

Written by Fraser Stewart
Reading time 2 minutes
How to Close a Facebook Account When Someone Dies image

If you are responsible for managing the social media accounts of a loved one who has passed away, you may be wondering how to close their Facebook account. This can be a difficult and emotional process. Still, it is essential to take care of these matters promptly. This guide will walk you through the steps for closing a Facebook account when someone dies. Please note that Facebook's policies and procedures may change over time: it is always a good idea to double-check their website for the most up-to-date information.

How do I close my personal Twitter account?

If you want to close your Facebook account, the social networking site offers two options: deactivation or deletion. Deactivation essentially pauses your account, making it inaccessible to others but retains your information should you wish to reactive later. Deletion will permanently remove the profile. Follow this step-by-step guide if this is what you would like to do:

How do I close a Twitter account of someone who has passed away?

If a loved one dies, Facebook can either memorialise the profile or delete the account altogether. This article will show you how to do this.

This special request form will need to be completed with four options available:

As per Facebook’s Guide, you will firstly need to provide documentation that you are an immediate family member or the executor for the profile holder.

The easiest way to close an account is through submitting a loved one’s death certificate. If this is not possible, Facebook will need two pieces of documentation: proof of authority and proof that the person has passed away.

Proof of authority

Proof a Loved One Has Passed Away

Additional Resources

Our features

Powerful features to help you organise your life

Learn More
About us

We are here to make life planning simpler

Learn More